4 Church St. Cocoa, FL 32922      
(321) 636-3781    

Sacraments & Rites

Celebrating Life Events and Sustaining us Through the Normal

Baptisms, Weddings, Funerals, and Holy Communion or Eucharist. . . .these are the rituals that mark many important points in our lives, and uplift us through the normal, and they are how most people experience sacraments or sacramental rites. Confirmation, Confession, and Ordination are other sacramental rites.

Congregants, alumni of the academy, and families of the church are all welcome to participate in sacraments and sacramental rites at St. Mark’s.

At times, people who are not already part of the St. Mark’s family find themselves in need of a spiritual home. If you are in need of support for a sacramental rite please contact Mtr. Sara.

"Sacraments are outward and physical signs of inward and spiritual grace”

For those who want to get technical and theological, The Episcopal Church celebrates two sacraments and five sacramental rites. The Episcopal Church also maintains a liturgy (or a service) for funerals. All of these are found in the Book of Common Prayer.

Two Sacraments

The Holy Eucharist
“The Liturgy for the Proclamation of the Word of God and Celebration of Holy Communion” is the formal name for our Sunday Services. The service has two parts: The Word of God, which consists of a reading from the Old Testament Lesson, a Psalm, a reading from the New Testament, and a reading from the Gospel. The sermon follows to address these readings by providing both a deeper understanding and context, and by relating them to how we are being taught to live our lives. The second part of the service is Holy Communion; this is when we join the procession of saints to celebrate the breaking of bread as Christ taught us.

During baptism a person is sealed as God’s own forever. Parents and members of the congregation agree to help the person grow into the full stature of Christ. At the end of the rite, the final prayers concludes, “Sustain them O Lord, in your Holy Spirit. Give them an inquiring and discerning heart, the courage to will and to persevere, a spirit to know and to love you, and the gift of joy and wonder in all your works.”

Five Sacramental Rites

Besides Baptism and Eucharist (Holy Communion), the church recognizes other spiritual markers in our journey of faith. We celebrate these as Sacramental Rites. These include:

  • Confirmation
  • Reconciliation of a Penitent (Private Confession)
  • Matrimony (Christian Marriage)
  • Holy Orders (Ordination of a Priest)
  • Unction (anointing with oil those who are sick or dying)


Episcopal funerals are an act of worship, and many funeral and burial practices are guided by the Book of Common Prayer. In requesting the services of a priest of the Episcopal Church, families accept the discipline and worship of the Episcopal church.

envelopephone-handsetmap-marker linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram