In 1878, a group of Episcopal settlers gathered on the porch of a home in Rockledge to worship and form what would become St. Mark’s. Since then, parishioners have joined together on the banks of the Indian River Lagoon for Christian worship, fellowship, and outreach to the community.
When a Black Episcopal church on Merritt Island closed in 1943, Fr. William Hargrave invited those parishioners to join in the worship at St. Mark’s, and St. Mark’s has remained an open and welcoming congregation.
The congregation is a community of God’s people who seek to discover and experience Christ’s healing power in all aspects of life, and who spread His Light in the world through various ministries and outreach. Parishioners explore the meaning of their faith and engage in lively and thoughtful discussions, while discovering the wonders of God through Scripture, Reason, and Tradition.